industry troll contacting groups from our stopsmartmeters.org list

———-Original Message———-

From: Joshua Hart <joshuahart@baymoon.com>
Date: Mar 18, 2016 12:48:45 PM
Subject: industry troll contacting groups from our list
To: Joshua Hart <info@stopsmartmeters.org>

Hi everyone,

You are receiving this message because you are listed in our smart meter global database here:

http://stopsmartmeters.org/frequently-asked-questions/contacts-database/

It has come to our attention that the person below is very likely an industry troll, according to reliable information I received yesterday. Beware and do not contact or share sensitive info with this person. Before engaging with people it is a good idea to verify their identities. He is going through our database and contacting people, perhaps as a result of a tweet I did yesterday promoting the page.
Thanks
Josh

> Begin forwarded message:
>
> From: “SD Cook” <sdcook94@……..>
> Subject: Opt-out and penalty payment
> Date: March 17, 2016 at 2:12:21 PM PDT
> To: <info@stopsmartmeters.org <mailto:info@stopsmartmeters.org>>
>
> Hello-
>
> Questions below if you could help…background information and commentary before the questions.
>
> I just last week stumbled across ‘Smart Meters’ and began Googling around and came to your site. I’ve spent a couple of days on your site and further Googling. This afternoon I came across the article on your site: “WTF?” Widespread Overcharging and Irregularities Reported from Utilities’ Bi-Monthly Analog Meter Reads and Estimated Billing- Tempers Flare at Washington State Forum” just now.
>
> Some background: We are in Rhode Island and a customer (thinking of that term loosely) of National Grid. It appears that (looking at usage statements) that a Smart Meter was installed on our house in/around March 2012. Prior to March 2012, most of the usage statements were listed as estimates. Since then, all are listed as actual. We were never notified that there would be a change that I can remember. Interestingly, immediate neighbors on both sides of us still have mechanical meters (I compared them this afternoon against photos, phantom mechanicals etc).
>
> Today, I went outside to see if our meter was a Smart Meter. I believe it is, see attached photo. So I got on the phone with National Grid this afternoon. I dialed into the ‘customer service’ line, gave them my account details then asked for a scheduled time to replace the ‘Smart Meter’ with a mechanical meter. The lady transferred me to their Smart Metering group. Again gave the account details and why I was calling and this lady said – “…we have a ‘Smart Metering’ program in Massachusetts but not in Rhode Island. What you have is a transmitting meter, let me get you in touch with Customer Service…” (I didn’t get into it with them but obviously some different interpretations of ‘Smart Meters’ on their part I think).
>
> Back to customer service and sharing account details yet again – I told the lady (Shannon) that I wanted to have the unauthorized ‘transmitting’ meter replaced with a mechanical meter. She said that wasn’t a problem, they have mechanical meters that can transmit data to the meter-reader. I clarified that I wanted a meter with no transmitting capabilities. She said sure, let me put you on hold to find what the charges for that will be. What?
>
> She came back with – $27 swap out fee and a $13 monthly ‘meter reading fee’.
>
> I explained to her that both my neighbors were mechanical meters (somebody must be coming by?), that the price seemed exorbitant (“we own the meter” was the basic response), that our earlier bills (prior to the Smart meter install) for months on end were estimated, so if I’m to pay this monthly fee, I expect someone to physically come by the property each month. She started explaining about inclement weather, reading cycles etc and that if we saw an ‘estimate’, please call and we’ll help.
>
> I scheduled the meter replacement for next week (3/23).
>
> Questions:
> Thinking on it after I hung up…she said that with the current meter, the reader could ‘digitally read’ the meter each month. I’m not sure if that meant somebody actually drove up and red from the van or if a tech in some center was reading. If it’s a person in a van…what is the cost differential between sitting in a van with a readout versus stepping out and physically reading the meter? Is that $13? Did the PUC approve…how do I find out?
>
> This apparently is the Rhode Island, National Grid ‘Opt Out’ policy (Shannon actually said Opt Out program). How do I find out if these monthly charges are approved and legitimate? Or if there are there alternate Options (I read the meter and send in for example). I can already foresee the first time I call about an ‘estimated’ reading and a $13 monthly charge.
>
> Appreciate the help.
>
> Steve
>

Josh Hart MSc
Director, Stop Smart Meters!
http://StopSmartMeters.org <http://stopsmartmeters.org/>
PO Box 682 Portola, CA 96122

Stop Smart Meters! is grassroots-funded
http://StopSmartMeters.org/Donate <http://stopsmartmeters.org/Donate>

•Campaign supplies •Cornet EMF Meters
& more: http://StopSmartMeters.org/Store <http://stopsmartmeters.org/Store>

Sent from my safer, wired computer



Hi everyone,

You are receiving this message because you are listed in our smart meter global database here:

It has come to our attention that the person below is very likely an industry troll, according to reliable information I received yesterday.  Beware and do not contact or share sensitive info with this person. Before engaging with people it is a good idea to verify their identities. He is going through our database and contacting people, perhaps as a result of a tweet I did yesterday promoting the page.

Thanks
Josh

Begin forwarded message:
From: “SD Cook” <sdcook94@……..>
Subject: Opt-out and penalty payment
Date: March 17, 2016 at 2:12:21 PM PDT
Hello-
 
Questions below if you could help…background information and commentary before the questions.
 
I just last week stumbled across ‘Smart Meters’ and began Googling around and came to your site. I’ve spent a couple of days on your site and further Googling. This afternoon I came across the article on your site: “WTF?” Widespread Overcharging and Irregularities Reported from Utilities’ Bi-Monthly Analog Meter Reads and Estimated Billing- Tempers Flare at Washington State Forum” just now.
 
Some background: We are in Rhode Island and a customer (thinking of that term loosely) of National Grid. It appears that (looking at usage statements) that a Smart Meter was installed on our house in/around March 2012. Prior to March 2012, most of the usage statements were listed as estimates. Since then, all are listed as actual. We were never notified that there would be a change that I can remember. Interestingly, immediate neighbors on both sides of us still have mechanical meters (I compared them this afternoon against photos, phantom mechanicals etc). 
 
Today, I went outside to see if our meter was a Smart Meter. I believe it is, see attached photo. So I got on the phone with National Grid this afternoon. I dialed into the ‘customer service’ line, gave them my account details then asked for a scheduled time to replace the ‘Smart Meter’ with a mechanical meter. The lady transferred me to their Smart Metering group. Again gave the account details and why I was calling and this lady said – “…we have a ‘Smart Metering’ program in Massachusetts but not in Rhode Island. What you have is a transmitting meter, let me get you in touch with Customer Service…” (I didn’t get into it with them but obviously some different interpretations of ‘Smart Meters’ on their part I think).
 
Back to customer service and sharing account details yet again – I told the lady (Shannon) that I wanted to have the unauthorized ‘transmitting’ meter replaced with a mechanical meter. She said that wasn’t a problem, they have mechanical meters that can transmit data to the meter-reader. I clarified that I wanted a meter with no transmitting capabilities. She said sure, let me put you on hold to find what the charges for that will be. What?
 
She came back with – $27 swap out fee and a $13 monthly ‘meter reading fee’. 
 
I explained to her that both my neighbors were mechanical meters (somebody must be coming by?), that the price seemed exorbitant (“we own the meter” was the basic response), that our earlier bills (prior to the Smart meter install) for months on end were estimated, so if I’m to pay this monthly fee, I expect someone to physically come by the property each month. She started explaining about inclement weather, reading cycles etc and that if we saw an ‘estimate’, please call and we’ll help.
 
I scheduled the meter replacement for next week (3/23). 
 
Questions:
Thinking on it after I hung up…she said that with the current meter, the reader could ‘digitally read’ the meter each month. I’m not sure if that meant somebody actually drove up and red from the van or if a tech in some center was reading. If it’s a person in a van…what is the cost differential between sitting in a van with a readout versus stepping out and physically reading the meter? Is that $13? Did the PUC approve…how do I find out?
 
This apparently is the Rhode Island, National Grid ‘Opt Out’ policy (Shannon actually said Opt Out program). How do I find out if these monthly charges are approved and legitimate? Or if there are there alternate Options (I read the meter and send in for example). I can already foresee the first time I call about an ‘estimated’ reading and a $13 monthly charge.
 
Appreciate the help.
 
Steve
 
 
 
 
 Josh Hart MScDirector, Stop Smart Meters!
http://StopSmartMeters.org
PO Box 682 Portola, CA 96122

Stop Smart Meters! is grassroots-funded
http://StopSmartMeters.org/Donate

•Campaign supplies •Cornet EMF Meters
& more: http://StopSmartMeters.org/Store

Sent from my safer, wired computer

 

Leave a Reply

